[QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

CruxMDQ
Scavenger
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2016, 16:54

[QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby CruxMDQ » 19 Mar 2016, 17:39

Hello everyone, after much gaming I'm tentatively starting my journey into the world of STALKER modding. I decided I want to begin by working on something I want done: increase artifact spawning rates and adding more artifact spawning points.

I was told by Darryl to look at the smart terrain configs. I did some peeking around and found what he mentioned. With that question answered, I'm moving on to the next one: how do you go and create a new place where artifacts spawn? I understand that requires creation of a new smart terrain. How would you go about that? Could you suggest links to tutorials and tools I need?

User avatar
Diegtiarov
Trespasser
Posts: 52
Joined: 12 Nov 2015, 08:34
Contact:

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby Diegtiarov » 31 Mar 2016, 16:02

Hey.

I don't really undestand what do you mean by spawning points.
I'd start off editing \configs\scripts\location\anomaly

Respawn tries - X amount of tries to respawn artifact after emission (I don't remember where are % chances for each artifact though)
Max artefacts - maximum amount of artifacts that can appear in anomaly at the same time
Artefacts* - artefacts that can spawn in anomaly
Start artefact - first artefact right after starting new game(?) or artefact that must be spawned to allow others to spawn(?); you have to check this
Coeff - (?)
Artefact ways - paths in which artifacts move within anomaly (have to be set in SDK afaik)
Applying force - I have no clue, maybe it has something to do with game physics.
Field name - describes anomaly damage; more in: \configs\zones

I advice to change only Respawn tries; Max artefacts; Artefacts and, eventually Start artefact.

Hope I helped a bit.
Cheers.

artefacts*:

Code: Select all

af_ameba_mica
af_ameba_slime
af_ameba_slug
af_baloon
af_blood
af_cristall
af_cristall_flower
af_drops
af_dummy_battery
af_dummy_dummy
af_dummy_glassbeads
af_dummy_pellicle
af_dummy_spring
af_eye
af_fire
af_fireball
af_glass
af_gold_fish
af_gravi
af_ice
af_medusa
af_mincer_meat
af_night_star
af_rusty_kristall
af_rusty_sea
af_rusty_thorn
af_soul
af_vyvert
af_compass
af_electra_flash
af_electra_moonlight
af_electra_sparkler
af_fuzz_kolobok
af_oasis_heart
af_quest_b14_twisted
jup_b1_half_artifact

User avatar
2C.LiryC
Killer
Posts: 512
Joined: 16 Feb 2013, 07:58
Location: Tours, France

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby 2C.LiryC » 01 Apr 2016, 02:05

Hi.
Sorry to see this topic only now.

Degtiarov explained it perfectly. The files you need to edit are the "anomal_zone".
Just don't forget to include some SoC artefacts, as they are in the mod. ;)

CruxMDQ
Scavenger
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2016, 16:54

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby CruxMDQ » 12 May 2016, 22:38

Oh hey Liryc, it's actually great to see you. I went and did what I should have done to begin with... I researched it.

That research included that great, great tutorial you posted here.

But after placing the all.spawn file I ended up with on the gamedata\spawns folder, I got a crash. :suicide:

I've kept a log of everything I did here. I hope the next post will be about figuring out what went wrong...

User avatar
2C.LiryC
Killer
Posts: 512
Joined: 16 Feb 2013, 07:58
Location: Tours, France

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby 2C.LiryC » 13 May 2016, 05:02

Hi,

Reading your blog's session 3, I see nothing wrong in your process.
What do the log of your crash says ?

CruxMDQ
Scavenger
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2016, 16:54

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby CruxMDQ » 13 May 2016, 07:57

I get this error, but I have the gut feeling that's not what you need:

Expression: fatal error
Function: CScriptEngine::lua_error
File : ..xrServerEntities\script_engine.cpp
Line: 193
Description : <no expression>
Arguments : LUA Error: (...)\gamedata\scripts\_g.script:499: bad argument #1 to 'gfind' (string expected, got nil)

Most likely there's a more detailed crash log somewhere, where can I find it?

User avatar
2C.LiryC
Killer
Posts: 512
Joined: 16 Feb 2013, 07:58
Location: Tours, France

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby 2C.LiryC » 13 May 2016, 12:54

It talks a bit to me.

I believe I had this kind of errors when the .ltx of an anomal_zone had bad settings.
Do all your anomal_zones .ltx have the proper settings like it is in the tutorial and in the example you show on your blog ?

Pretty sure it's something related to this kind of thing, check your anomal_zones configs.
Check also you copied the relevant files (\configs\scripts\location\anomaly\) from your SDK gamedata to your testing CoC game.
Writing about it, I think the error was occurring when I forgot to put the config files from my SDK folder to my testing game.

CruxMDQ
Scavenger
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2016, 16:54

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby CruxMDQ » 14 May 2016, 01:24

That did the trick.

To say that I'm immensely grateful for your help doesn't begin to explain it.

Any other stuff you post, I'll be glad to experiment with.

Ideally, I'd want to add in some more artifacts (the stuff featured in Lost Alpha or Stalkersoup comes to mind).

Also, come to think of it: probably it's stupid obvious, but replacing, say, the all.spawn on the latest patch with my own all.spawn is not the best of ideas... right?

User avatar
2C.LiryC
Killer
Posts: 512
Joined: 16 Feb 2013, 07:58
Location: Tours, France

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby 2C.LiryC » 14 May 2016, 14:49

CruxMDQ wrote:...
Also, come to think of it: probably it's stupid obvious, but replacing, say, the all.spawn on the latest patch with my own all.spawn is not the best of ideas... right?

That's not stupid.
You can change the all.spawn for some of your creation, but keep in mind you'll then break the continuity with next SDK CoC vanilla updates (we're keeping it up to date for others modders, for them to be able to build èupon the mod from the SDK).

CruxMDQ
Scavenger
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2016, 16:54

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby CruxMDQ » 14 May 2016, 15:55

2C.LiryC wrote:You can change the all.spawn for some of your creation, but keep in mind you'll then break the continuity with next SDK CoC vanilla updates (we're keeping it up to date for others modders, for them to be able to build èupon the mod from the SDK).


So I take there's no easy way to merge my changes with those from upcoming patches, barring having access to the same raw level files? I saw there's somewhere a tool for unpacking the all.spawn, but I have yet to explore whether that would allow me to merge my stuff with that you guys create via usage of WinMerge or similar tools... is that right?

User avatar
2C.LiryC
Killer
Posts: 512
Joined: 16 Feb 2013, 07:58
Location: Tours, France

Re: [QUESTION] Adding artifact spawn points or increasing spawning rate

Postby 2C.LiryC » 14 May 2016, 16:15

Well, changing the all.spawn from unpacked one is ever worst. You'll end up having errors related to same objects but with different IDs.
The best and cleanest way is to do it by the LE.
It's just, if you do so, you start your own branch for CoC. But, if there is no changes from us, your spawn should be compatible.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests